Worry Jar ~ Practicing Mindfulness

This week I made a “Worry Jar” and I took it to a new soupy, stupendously, fun fantastic level! Arts and crafts are my BFFs πŸ˜‰

First, I found an empty plastic coffee can with lid. I used my tons of scrapbook materials to decorate my jar. Worries are no fun, but the jar can be happily decorated!

On the outside of the jar I labeled the circles with positive thinking skills that I practice: Opposite Action, Yoga, Walking, In the Present Moment, Music, Everyday Mindfulness, Visualizations, Meditation, Prayers, Affirmations, Deep Breathing, Reducing Painful Emotions, HALTS.

Next, I cut a rectangle hole in the top to slip my worries in the jar. The polka dot ribbon on top of my jar is for Mental Health awareness. Hopefully, by just sharing this mental health technique with my fellow bloggers we will all be reminded of the utmost importance of caring for our minds.

See the purpose of this jar is to write your worry on a slip of paper (post-it-note or any sort of paper you have) and place it in the worry jar. If you are not home during the day, no worries, just keep tabs on those worries, jot them down on paper and once you return home place them in your jar. I’ve been using notebook paper and then cutting them out.

Once the worry is jotted down on paper there is no need to think about the worry anymore until your designated “worry time”. My worry time is around 4:30 – 5:00 pm. Select a time where you have about 20-30 minutes to sit and ponder about each individual worry that you tossed into the worry jar. “Worry Time” is your designated time to scrunch up your face, frown, and worry your hardest…

Ready?

Set….

Now WORRY!

Dump out all the pieces of worries, read each worry and ruminate at will. I worry about each one at a time crumbling, crunching, and then make a crumpled paper pile.

Once the worries are all in a pile – – – I gather them all up in my hand. Give then one last goodbye crunch then I take then over to the trash can and willingly Let Them Go.

Sometimes I say this affirmation when trashing my worries:

I am willing to let go of anything and everything working against me in all time and space

20140322-192731.jpg

20140322-193527.jpg

20140322-195725.jpg

20140322-195738.jpg

20140322-195757.jpg

20140322-200204.jpg

8 thoughts on “Worry Jar ~ Practicing Mindfulness

  1. A powerfully remarkable idea. Often, in our Garden, we are like chipmunks nibbling at the shapes of things. We are making them fit into our cubby. I have two fine jars belonging to my Grandmother. They are going on the shelf. Already decorated by a long-time-ago Pottery Barn type of artisan. One jar is for each of my ‘Worries,’ written on a scrap of paper. One jar is for each of my sustaining ‘Healings,’ written on a scrap of paper. These are big jars. The only rule is that for every ‘Worry’ a ‘Healing’, and for every ‘Healing’ a ‘Worry’. Analysis may show these are all different stages of a butterfly.

    • How neat Garden! I think that’s why I put my positivity practices on the outside of my worry jar πŸ˜‰ Love that you have a Healing jar too, very interesting! So special that they belonged to your Grandmother too.

      • These are objects. They represent images. Of memories. And peopled events. And a gathering of thoughts and feelings for proper organizing. These worries and this healing work helps me grow. A bud in a jar, healing thoughts in a box, these are symbols of devotion. The gardener lives within himself. The images within my mind are objects to use and live in our world. Each day is a practice day for living and organizing objects, images, thoughts and feelings. This is a proper healing garden.

  2. this is an amazing practice, i really like it! thanks for sharing πŸ™‚ the mantra i taped to my computer a couple years ago helped me with this a lot! “i vow to let go of all worries and anxiety in order to be light and free”

Leave your flavor

