Daily Prompt: Singing the blues

Thanks Daily Post for this prompt!

We all feel down from time to time.  How do you combat the blues?  What’s one tip you can share with others that always helps to lift your spirits?

Needed to get this out of my brain today:

This writing prompt was audibly singing my tune today cuz I got the blues…Yeah I got the blues.  On a normal ugh… it’s a rainy day; I put on my hot pink, black buckled rain boots with white and green stars to lift up my rainy day blues moodiness.  Today that didn’t cut it….

On this rainy afternoon what am I doing?  Sitting on my couch of self-pity watching episodes of New Girl (she’s funny and usually makes me laugh).  Today all Jess gets is a half hearted laugh.  I knew this was just a temporary distraction and soon I would need to deal with what was troubling me.

Anyway, enough about what is “bothering” me today….How did I reach deep inside of me and pull out some SMILES?  Come with me lets climb up the ladder out of Bluesville city.  After much sulking ~ I pulled myself up and over each of my self made boohoo ladder rungs ~ eventually I climbed away from the TV and to my photos I went 🙂  This photo of my little boy caught my heart and helped my smile return!

smile

How can anyone not smile after viewing this gigantor grin?  His bandaid in this photo is special to me since this week he asked for this same Cars themed bandaid on the exact same knee – 4 months later.  He tends to get bumps and scrapes often 😉

I know this won’t be the last time I’m feeling down, but allowing the fog to lift through my photography is exactly why I started this blog.  Photography is what lifts my spirits to soar higher once again!  My photography and art are pieces of me.  It makes me vulnerable to share, but happier that I do.

My son’s smile in this photo made me pause, appreciate, and listen to the moment.  What did I hear?  A red bird trilling a song in the misty raindrops dripping in the early evening.  I grabbed my camera and put on my brightly colored rain boots to enjoy this bird’s song.  Yes, I took a few pics of him too.

Tips to help you with a case of blues:

  • Brightly colored clothes or boots (aka color therapy)
  • Pictures of loved ones
  • Photography you enjoy looking at
  • Get up and take your own photos (there is something uplifting about creating)

Do you love to search online for cute puppy or kitten pics?  Are breath-taking landscapes your photo fix?  Tell me ~ What does photography do for you?

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Singing the blues

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Singing the Blues | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. Pingback: 10 Tips for Beating the Blues (+ an Amusing Picture) | lynnesartandsoul

  3. Pingback: NEVER ALONE | Hastywords

Leave your flavor

