Accepting Change

quote

This change all of a sudden slapped me in the face!

Ok, so somehow I’ve gained 10 pounds and ALL in my waist of course…. Ugh – it’s never fun trying to pull on pants to discover – – – WHAT???  They don’t fit?  Ugh, ugh, ugh… How did this happen?  No, I’m not blaming it on holiday eating either.

It took me awhile, 2 weeks or maybe a month, to finally realize that this slightly, squishier tummy wasn’t going to shrink back anytime soon….of course I was wishing it would magically go back, but no such luck.  This entire month I’ve been kind of upset about this, but now I’m over it.  Any of my friends and family reading this are probably thinking its about time she joins the rest of us!  She needed a few pounds 🙂

After yoga class today I was trying to find some pants to wear besides sweats and tried on at least 3 no way do they fit pants.  How aggravating!

I decided it would help me more to give the no fit pants away vs saving till they fit again on that “someday” that never happens.  Why hoard clothes that I can’t wear?  Now I have a good excuse to bargain shop!  I always find something I like anyway.  Giving away and organizing what’s left is refreshing!  I know without a doubt what’s left in my closet fits me and therefore equals enjoyable 🙂 Added bonus – a few lucky women get to get all excited about the cool skinny jeans they found for only $4 at Goodwill.  Score!

I’m also sending positive messages to myself:

  • It’s ok that I gained a few additional pounds.  My stick figure can handle it.
  • I exercise regularly and moderately watch my diet.
  • I’m accepting the change.

As I’m writing this in my journal I’m enjoying whipped cream cheese and blueberry preserves on top of a bagel with orange black tea.  Yum!  Guess this is my lunch since it’s almost noon.

It felt so good to give away my no fit jeans today that my goal for this holiday season is to be more giving!  Less of me and more focused on others.

Goals:

  1. When I buy a present for someone else I’m not going to get myself one too.
  2. Continue to organize what I do have and continue to donate.  Hmmmm not sure I’m feeling strong enough to resist mecentricity (yes, I just made this word up).

Tell me I can do it!

2 thoughts on “Accepting Change

Leave your flavor

